Master of Chiropractic Medicine

Chiropractic Medicine: The Program

The 6-year Chiropractic Medicine Program teaches students the science-based medical and chiropractic knowledge which is the foundation of chiropractic medicine. The first four years of study include in full the curriculum of the Human Medicine Program. In addition, the students are taught the skills and abilities specific to Chiropractic Medicine in mandatory modules (Mantelstudium). During years 5 and 6, the teaching content pertains mainly to subjects related to Chiropractic Medicine. Graduates will earn a Master’s degree in Chiropractic Medicine.

The program in detail:

Bachelor’s Degree

The Faculty of Medicine has adapted its programs in order to conform with the Bologna model. Credit points are awarded according to the ECTS system. The first three years of study are identical to the Human Medicine Program. Moreover, the students are required to take the required modules in Chiropractic Medicine, learning the fundamentals of chiropractic practice. The course load consists of 2 hours per week in the first, 4 hours per week in the second and 6 hours per week in the third year of study. At the end of the third year, students are awarded a Bachelor of Medicine.

Master’s Degree

The master’s course in Chiropractic Medicine is a distinct course of study within the Faculty of Medicine. In the first year of the master’s course, the students again are required to take all classes of the Master’s program in human medicine. In addition they continue to attend modules in Chiropractic Medicine an additional eight hours a week. Over the course of the second year the focus is predominantly on acquiring specific chiropractic abilities and skills. The third and final year is dedicated to clinical training. The students spend five months in rotations in the different departments of Balgrist University Hospital: Orthopaedics, Rheumatology, Neurology and Paraplegiology, Radiology and Internal Medicine. A further six months are spent as interns in the Balgrist University Hospital’s Policlinic of Chiropractic Medicine, where their diagnostic and therapeutic skills will be further honed. At the completion of the Master’s Degree program, students are awarded a Master’s of Chiropractic Medicine. The Master’s degree is a prerequisite to apply for the Federal examination in Chiropractic Medicine, which again, upon passing is a prerequisite for employment and acceptance into the post-graduate program. A dissertation may be submitted one year after the Master’s degree at the earliest. After the recognition by the medical faculty, the title of Dr. of Chiropractic Medicine (Dr. chiro. med.) will be awarded.

Career prospects

Upon completion of the 2-year postgraduate program at the Swiss Chiropractic Academy, graduates are admitted to the qualifying examination in Chiropractic. Upon passing, they are qualified for independent practice. Career prospects for both self-employment and employed positions are very attractive. Moreover, diverse opportunities are available for work abroad.

Please note

The terms of admission to the Chiropractic Program are identical to those for the Human Medicine Program. Swiss citizens as well as foreign nationals have to meet certain criteria in order to be admitted. If the number of applications exceeds the number of places available by more than 20%, an aptitude test is performed. Prospective students must register by the 15th of February of each year to at Swissuniversities ( Physicians with a degree in Human Medicine may make up the required modules of the Bachelor Program in Chiropractic Medicine in an abbreviated process and afterwards enter the regular of the Master’s in Chiropractic Medicine program.

Further information

Further information can be found on the websites of ChiroSuisse (Association of Swiss Chiropractors) and SCS (Swiss Chiropractic Students).

You will also find two very informative movie clips about the Chiropractic Program on YouTube.

The Institution: The Clinic for Chiropractic Medicine at the Balgrist University Hospital

Goals and objectives


Development, implementation and monitoring of the curriculum of the University of Zurich’s Chiropractic Medicine Program (Bachelor of Human Medicine, Required Modules in Chiropractic Medicine and Master of Chiropractic Medicine).


Planning, development and execution of research projects in the field of chiropractic medicine, also in collaboration with other institutions (UZH, ETHZ, Bournemouth University, UK).

Clinical Education

Since fall 2011, the clinical education of future chiropractors takes place at the Balgrist University Hospital.

Policlinic for Chiropractic Medicine


The Policlinic of Chiropractic Medicine offers evaluations and treatment to outpatients. Comprehensive care is ensured by close interdisciplinary communication with all other medical specialties of the Balgrist University Hospital.


  • Acute and chronic neck and back pain
  • Pain of the thoracic spine
  • Radiating pain into arms or legs
  • Peripheral-joint pain (hip, shoulder, elbow, etc.)


6-year accredited university program in accordance with the Swiss Federal Law of the Medical Professions (Medizinalberufegesetz MedBG).

Head of Department

Prof. Kim Humphreys, DC, PhD

Head of Administration

Dr. Daniel Mühlemann, PT, DC


Department Assistant and Deputy Head of Administration
Mrs. Manuela Lüber
Tel. +41 44 386 57 01

Chiropraktikstudium

Studium Chiropraktische Medizin

Das 6-jährige Studium der Chiropraktische Medizin vermittelt das auf wissenschaftlichen Kenntnissen aufbauende medizinische und chiropraktische Wissen, das die Grundlage der Chiropraktischen Medizin bildet. Die ersten vier Studienjahre beinhalten alle Lehrinhalte des regulären Humanmedizinstudiums, zusätzlich werden im Mantelstudium spezifisch chiropraktische Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten erlernt. Ab dem fünften Studienjahr werden hauptsächlich spezialisierte Lehrinhalte der Chiropraktischen Medizin vermittelt. Das Studium wird abgeschlossen mit dem Master in Chiropraktischer Medizin.

Studienverlauf

Bachelorstudiengang

Die Medizinische Fakultät hat ihre Studiengänge entsprechend dem Bologna Modell reformiert. Alle studentischen Leistungen werden entsprechend dem ECTS-System ausgewiesen. Die ersten drei Studienjahre sind identisch mit dem Humanmedizinstudium. Zusätzlich belegen die Studierenden das Mantelstudium Chiropraktik, das im ersten Studienjahr zwei Stunden, im zweiten Studienjahr vier Stunden und im dritten Studienjahr sechs Stunden Unterricht pro Woche in den Grundlagen der Chiropraktischen Medizin beinhaltet. Abgeschlossen wird das Bachelorstudium mit dem Bachelor of Medicine.

Masterstudiengang

Der Masterstudiengang wird als eigenständiger Studiengang Chiropraktische Medizin geführt. Im ersten Studienjahr sind wie im Bachelorstudium alle Fächer des Humanmedizinstudiums und zusätzlich das Mantelstudium Chiropraktik mit acht Unterrichtsstunden pro Woche zu belegen. Im zweiten Studienjahr werden schwerpunktmässig spezifisch chiropraktische Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten vermittelt. Das klinische Ausbildungsjahr findet im dritten Studienjahr statt: die Studierenden verbringen fünf Monate in einem Rotationssystem in den Abteilungen Orthopädie, Rheumatologie, Paraplegie, Radiologie und Innere Medizin der Universitätsklinik Balgrist. Sechs weitere Monate sind die Unterassistenten in der Poliklinik für Chiropraktische Medizin an der Universitätsklinik Balgrist im Einsatz, wo sie ihre diagnostischen und therapeutischen Fähigkeiten weiter verfeinern. Der Masterstudiengang wird mit dem Master in Chiropraktischer Medizin abgeschlossen. Der Masterabschluss berechtigt zur Anmeldung für die Eidgenössische Prüfung in Chiropraktik. Dies ist die Voraussetzung zur Aufnahme der unselbständigen Berufstätigkeit und der Weiterbildung. Eine (fakultative) Doktorarbeit kann frühestens ein Jahr nach dem Masterabschluss eingereicht werden. Nach deren Anerkennung durch die Medizinische Fakultät wird der Titel Dr. der Chiropraktischen Medizin (Dr. med. chiro.) verliehen.

Berufsperspektiven

Nach der obligatorischen 2-jährigen Weiterbildung an der Schweizerischen Akademie für Chiropraktik erfolgt die Zulassung zur Fachprüfung in Chiropraktik. Deren Bestehen berechtigt zur selbständigen Berufstätigkeit als Fachchiropraktor. Die Berufsaussichten sind für selbständig Praktizierende und im Angestelltenverhältnis sehr gut. Darüber hinaus stehen vielfältige Möglichkeiten offen, nach Studienabschluss im Ausland zu arbeiten.

Besondere Hinweise

Für das Studium der Chiropraktischen Medizin gelten die gleichen Zulassungsbestimmungen wie für das Humanmedizinstudium, zu finden auf der Homepage www.swissuniversities.ch.

Humanmedizinerinnen und Humanmediziner mit einem abgeschlossenen Studium haben die Möglichkeit, in einem abgekürzten Verfahren die Schwerpunkte Chiropraktik des Bachelorstudiums nachzuholen und dann regulär in den Masterstudiengang Chiropraktische Medizin (3 Jahre) einzusteigen.

Weitere Informationen

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Homepage von ChiroSuisse und auf der Homepage des Fachvereins SCS für die Studierenden der chiropraktischen Medizin.

Zwei sehr informative Filme über das Chiropraktik Studium finden sich auf YouTube:

Chiropraktik studieren an der Uni Zürich (Deutsche Originalversion)

Chiropraktik studieren an der Uni Zürich - ENDSPURT (mit dt. Untertiteln)

Ausbildungsstätte: Klinik für Chiropraktische Medizin an der Universitätsklinik Balgrist

Aufgaben

Lehre

Entwicklung, Durchführung und Monitoring des Curriculums des Studiengangs Chiropraktik an der Universität Zürich (Bachelor-Studiengang Medizin, Schwerpunkt Chiropraktik und Masterstudiengang Chiropraktische Medizin).

Forschung

Planung, Entwicklung und Ausführung von Forschungsprojekten auf dem Gebiet der Chiropraktischen Medizin auch in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Institutionen (UZH, ETHZ, Bournemouth University, UK)

Klinische Ausbildung

Die klinische Ausbildung der zukünftigen Chiropraktorinnen und Chiropraktoren findet seit Herbst 2011 an der Universitätsklinik Balgrist statt.

Poliklinik für Chiropraktische Medizin

Kompetenzen

Die Poliklinik für Chiropraktische Medizin bietet ambulante Abklärungen und Behandlungen an. Zur ganzheitlichen Betreuung der Patientinnen und Patienten wird mit allen anderen Disziplinen der Uniklinik Balgrist ein enger interdisziplinärer Austausch gepflegt.

Schwerpunkte

  • Akute und chronische Nacken- und Kreuzschmerzen
  • Schmerzen im Bereich der Brustwirbelsäule
  • Ausstrahlende Schmerzen in die Arme oder Beine
  • Schmerzen in den peripheren Gelenken (Hüfte, Schulter, Ellbogen)

Qualifikation der Ausbildungsstätte

6-jähriger akkreditierter, universitärer Studiengang im Rahmen des eidgenössischen Medizinalberufegesetzes MedBG.

Leitung

Prof. Kim Humphreys, DC, PhD

Leitung Administration

Daniel Mühlemann, PT, DC

Kontakt

Abteilungsassistenz/Stv. Leitung Administration
Frau Manuela Lüber
Tel. + 41 44 386 57 01
E-Mail: chiropraktik@balgrist.ch