Faculty of Medicine

 

About the Faculty

Studierende

Paraffin blocks with biopsies of skin tumors

The largest Faculty of Medicine in Switzerland

The Faculty of Medicine numbers some 3,000 students and awards roughly 270 degrees in human medicine, dentistry, and chiropractic medicine each year. More than 700 qualified instructors are actively involved in teaching activities and, together with the staff from the Dean’s Office, they guarantee a sound research-based education and promote academic career development. The Faculty of Medicine in Zurich is the largest of Switzerland’s six medical schools.

Our entire academic staff is fully committed to competent and responsible medical research and teaching. With our five University‘s hospitals, we operate in an internationally renowned and dynamic environment. Thanks to its location in the research hub of Zurich, the Faculty of Medicine has unique opportunities to engage in collaborations with other UZH faculties, other universities, ETH Zurich, and the private sector.

We are the first address for health care in the Canton of Zurich, and our goal is to consistently improve our medical services for the benefit of society, as set out in the national health strategy 2020 (Health 2020). As such, we strive to develop our research and teaching activities, and we measure our achievements with the best institutions worldwide.

Medizinische Fakultät

 

Über die Fakultät

Studierende

Paraffinblöcke mit Hauttumorbiopsien

Grösste Medizinische Fakultät der Schweiz

Die Medizinische Fakultät zählt rund 3000 Studentinnen und Studenten. Davon schliessen ungefähr 270 jährlich ihr Studium in Humanmedizin, Zahnmedizin oder Chiropraktischer Medizin ab. Über 700 akademische Dozentinnen und Dozenten stehen für die Ausbildung zur Verfügung und setzen sich zusammen mit den Mitarbeitenden im Dekanat für eine forschungsbasierte Bildung und Nachwuchsförderung ein. Zürich ist die grösste der sechs medizinischen Fakultäten der Schweiz.

An der Medizinischen Fakultät der UZH finden Sie Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler vor, die sich kompetent und verantwortungsvoll für die medizinische Forschung und Lehre engagieren. Mit den fünf universitären Spitälern bewegen wir uns in einem international renommierten und dynamischen Umfeld. Dank dem Forschungs- und Bildungsstandort Zürich hat die Medizinische Fakultät ein einzigartiges Potenzial für Kooperationen mit anderen Fakultäten der UZH, mit der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule Zürich (ETH), weiteren Hochschulen und der Privatwirtschaft.

Als erste Ansprechpartnerin für Gesundheit im Kanton Zürich und in Ausrichtung auf die nationale Strategie Gesundheit 2020 ist es unser Ziel, unsere medizinischen Leistungen zum Wohle der Gesellschaft ständig zu verbessern. Dafür entwickeln wir unsere Forschung und Lehre kontinuierlich weiter und messen uns im globalen Wettbewerb.